1 John 2:4-9, Making Claims and How to Identify

Scripture:

1 John 2:4, 6, 9 NIV

4 Whoever says, “I know him,” but does not do what he commands is a liar, and the truth is not in that person.6 Whoever claims to live in him must live as Jesus did.9 Anyone who claims to be in the light but hates a brother or sister is still in the darkness.

Observation:

These verses are warnings and a way for people to check themselves if they make claims to know whether what they say is true or not. To say you know God but don’t follow his commands is not truthful. So is saying you live in God’s light but hate a brother or sister,the two don’t mix and you can’t be the one if you don’t follow what he commands and what he’s all about: love.

John makes it plain, we must live as Jesus did if we claim to live in him. Check all you do against that.

Application:

I think it’s in our nature to compare ourselves to others to make sure we are okay relatively. We can easily look at others and see their faults but it’s difficult to see our own. I must always remember that I can always improve and make my way following God better. These verses allow me to check if I am truly obeying God, it will be made evident by my fruit. Am I following God in the way he lives as written in the Bible? Serving, sacrificing, humble, peaceful, glorifying God the Father, helping the sick, the poor, spreading the Gospel of truth and salvation in God alone?

Prayer:

Lord, help all of us to be in you by living as you do and truly live in the light. Thank you for this word this morning and always. May we continue to change and be transformed for you glory. In Jesus name I pray, Amen.

Leave a comment